In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize

In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize

HK$208.00

{{#has_saved}}

VIP Price

{{original}} {{/has_saved}}
Low Stock Alert: We have only one left in stock. Quick, click ADD TO CART to buy the last one.
DESCRIPTION :
Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or THIS IS ENGLAND.

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'A swaggering yet tender and polyphonic debut which capture the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' Observer

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

PRODUCT DETAILS :
ISBN : 9781472250209
BY (AUTHOR) Gunaratne, Guy
PUBLISHER : Headline Publishing Group PUBLICATION DATE : April 19, 2018
COUNTRY OF PUBLICATION : United Kingdom IMPRINT : Tinder Press
LANGUAGE : English AGE : General
PRODUCT FORM : Paperback / softback
DIMENSION : 234 mm x 154 mm
WEIGHT : 380 g

PRODUCT CATEGORY :
Fiction & Related items
DESCRIPTION :
Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or THIS IS ENGLAND.

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'A swaggering yet tender and polyphonic debut which capture the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' Observer

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

PRODUCT DETAILS :
ISBN : 9781472250209
BY (AUTHOR) Gunaratne, Guy
PUBLISHER : Headline Publishing Group PUBLICATION DATE : April 19, 2018
COUNTRY OF PUBLICATION : United Kingdom IMPRINT : Tinder Press
LANGUAGE : English AGE : General
PRODUCT FORM : Paperback / softback
DIMENSION : 234 mm x 154 mm
WEIGHT : 380 g

PRODUCT CATEGORY :
Fiction & Related items