The Bone Sparrow Fraillon, Zana

The Bone Sparrow

HK$100.00 10000
No Stock
DESCRIPTION :

Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017.
Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize
and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017.

Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.

'...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE series


Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.

Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence.

As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.



PRODUCT DETAILS :
ISBN : 9781510101555
BY (AUTHOR) Fraillon, Zana
PUBLISHER : Hachette Children's Group PUBLICATION DATE : January 12, 2017
COUNTRY OF PUBLICATION : United Kingdom IMPRINT : Orion Children's Books
LANGUAGE : English AGE : Interest age: from c 12 years
PRODUCT FORM : Paperback / softback
DIMENSION : 196 mm x 128 mm
WEIGHT : 246 g

PRODUCT CATEGORY :
Children’s, Teenage & Educational
DESCRIPTION : Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017.Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017.Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.'...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE seriesBorn in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures. PRODUCT DETAILS : ISBN : 9781510101555 BY (AUTHOR) Fraillon, Zana PUBLISHER : Hachette Children's Group PUBLICATION DATE : January 12, 2017 COUNTRY OF PUBLICATION : United Kingdom IMPRINT : Orion Children's Books LANGUAGE : English AGE : Interest age: from c 12 years PRODUCT FORM : Paperback / softback DIMENSION : 196 mm x 128 mm WEIGHT : 246 g PRODUCT CATEGORY : Children’s, Teenage & Educational