Dark Fire

Dark Fire

Sansom, C. J.

Unit price  per 

No Stock
DESCRIPTION :
Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling book in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times 'Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time' - Andrew Taylor, Spectator

England, 1540: Matthew Shardlake, believing himself out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, is busy trying to maintain his legal practice and keep a low profile. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally murdering her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the king's chief minister - and a new assignment . . .

The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries. Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved London monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother horribly murdered - the formula has disappeared.

Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while trying at the same time to prove his young client's innocence. But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems . . .

An internationally bestselling phenomenon, this gripping historical series continues with Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.

PRODUCT DETAILS :
ISBN : 9781447285847
BY (AUTHOR) Sansom, C. J.
PUBLISHER : Pan Macmillan PUBLICATION DATE : July 16, 2015
COUNTRY OF PUBLICATION : United Kingdom IMPRINT : Pan Books
LANGUAGE : English AGE : General
PRODUCT FORM : Paperback / softback
DIMENSION : 197 mm x 130 mm
WEIGHT : 428 g
SERIES : The Shardlake series

PRODUCT CATEGORY :
Fiction & Related items